WW Martin Sponsors TRC Young Riders

A big thank you to Ian Posnett, CEO of the local construction company WW Martin, for his continued sponsorship of Thanet Road Club. Ian has been sponsoring the club for the last 3 years, with a focus on young riders, both in the Academy and in the Race Team. This is due to the fact that Ian used to race for TRC in his youth, and wants to see our riders have the opportunity to experience racing in other parts of the UK and Northern Europe. Our thanks to Ian and WW Martin.

Evening 10 Mile Time Trial – 17th April 2019

After the recent spell of cold weather, things warmed up for the latest evening “10” at Betteshanger CP. It started off sunny, but started to get a bit misty later on. The winds were still from the east, but considerably lighter than the previous week. As a result of better conditions, the times were noticeably better too. A total of 38 riders signed on, including 8 juniors.

Catherine Morrell was both fastest girl, and fastest junior overall with a time of 26.18, while Toby Yemm was second junior and first boy in a time of 26.44.

Dan Martin of the University of Bath CC was best of the seniors, recording 20.40, while in second place was first Thanet RC senior, Nick Scott who was timed in at 21.39. Fastest woman was Thanet RC’s Faye Faiers. Faye’s time was 27.13.

Please see the attached PDF documents for the times of all riders.

This week’s band of volunteers was Sue Shields, Terry Fearn, Lawrence Martin, Michael Friend, Andrew Morrell, Andy McCall and Dave Mastin.

Report by Dave Mastin.

Juniors BCP 17th April.pdf

Seniors BCP 17th April.pdf

Mixed fortunes for Thanet RC duo at National Junior Series

There were mixed fortunes for Thanet RC riders Tom Lowther and George Pittock representing British Cycling South East region at the Fenwick’s Junior Tour of the Mendips at the weekend.

Tom was 32 secs off the pace after Stage 1, a 3.2 km prologue time trial; he finished in the bunch at 1:15 on the 105.5 km Stage 2; and survived four times up the brutal Harptree Hill, which averages 7% for 2.25 km with a maximum 12%, on the 95 km Stage 3, finishing 45th overall on General Classification at 19:56. This was an excellent result for Tom at his first “national”.

George was 49 secs back after the time trial and started Stage 2 well, but suffered on the second of seven laps and withdrew from the stage feeling unwell and was therefore unable to start Stage 3.

The race itself was won by Leo Hayter of VC Londres, the younger brother of track world champion and Team Sky trainee Ethan Hayter.

Post by Colin Robinson

KCA 25 Mile Titme Trial – 14th April 2019

The KCA 25, which was the second local time trial of the weekend, was held on the Q25/8 Chilham-Canterbury-Ashford course in extremely cold conditions. Dave Mastin reports that during his warm up (?), his Garmin showed -0.3C, with frost on the cars and grass. Luckily, the roads were dry and there was no ice to contend with. When he started, the temperature was just above freezing and had risen to 3C by the finish!

The day was sunny and bright, but it was the stiff breeze from the east that produced the chilly conditions. As a result of the conditions, the times of most riders were affected to a greater or lesser extent.

Club riders had some success, picking up some awards Fastest overall was second claim member Chris Fennell (the Independent Pedaler) with a very respectable time of 51.01. Second place went to brother Nic Fennell, who was fastest of the Thanet RC riders, with 53.33. The club also picked up the team of three award, with Nic Fennell, Nick Scott (57.33) and Adrian Hawkins (59.17).

Times of all club riders in starting order as follows:-

Adrian Hawkins: 59.17,
Paul Griffiths: 1.19.31,
Nick Scott: 57.33,
Chris Bax (2nd claim): 1.06.24.
Colin Inett: 1.18.19,
Matt Hall: 1.06.55,
Paul Kirkness: 1.08.45,
Dave Mastin: 1.11.03,
Andy Burrows: 1.16.48,
Nic Fennell: 53.33,
Chris Fennell (2nd claim): 51.01.

Mike Perry & Grant Cousins: DNS.

Report by Dave Mastin.

Thanet RC Evening 10 Mile Time Trial – 10/04/19

The second evening “10” of the 2019 season was held at Betteshanger CP in what can best be described as challenging conditions. Although sunny, it was very cold, thanks to a strong north easterly wind, and this lead to the times being affected to a lesser or greater extent.

The field of 35 riders included just 4 juniors this time. Catherine Morrell was both fastest girl and fastest junior in a time of 27.00, while 7 year old William Butcher was fastest boy with 40.40.

It was very close for top honours in the senior event with Chris Fennell (Independent Pedaler) coming in with 20.35, edging out Dan Martin (Bath Uni CC) by just 2 seconds. Nic Fennell was third in a time of 21.28 and fastest Thanet RC rider. Folkestone VC’s Annette Nixon was quickest of the women riders with 26.09, while Sophie Driscoll’s time of 27.52 gave her the top spot amongst the Thanet RC women.

Times of all riders can be found in the accompanying PDF documents.

This weeks group of helpers was Sue Shields, Terry Fearn, Lawrence Martin, Matt Hall, Mike Kirkness, Andy McCall, Andrew Morrell, Shawn Manning and Dave Mastin.

Report by D Mastin.

Juniors BCP 10th April.pdf

Seniors BCP 10thApril.pdf

West Kent RC 10 Mile Time Trial

For the second time in a fortnight, a number of club members made the trip up to the Isle of Grain to ride a 10 mile time trial. The weather obviously hadn’t seen the forecast, and it was windier, colder and damper than predicted.

It was a day of mixed fortunes for the club, with a couple of prize winners and some riders suffering problems. Second claim member and Team Wiggins rider Ollie Robinson was fastest overall, with a time of 20.21, which I understand is just 9 seconds away from the course record. Faye Faiers came third in the women’s category with 27.50. Not so lucky was Paul Kirkness who unshipped his chain and maybe lost 30 second or so. Simon Henderson hit a pothole early on and his front wheel moved in the dropouts, leading to a ride with a rubbing brake. Unluckiest of all was Colin Inett, who got held up by a train at the level crossing in Grain! Colin believes he lost at least a minute, and probably more.

Times of all club riders in start order as follows:-

Chris Bax (2nd claim): 26.02,
Di Yemm: 30.48,
Colin Robinson: 25.42,
Faye Faiers: 27.50,
Nic Scott: 22.22,
Paul Kirkness: 26.57,
Dave Mastin: 27.33,
Matt Hall: 25.23,
Simon Henderson: 23.36,
Andy Burrows: 29.39,
Ollie Robinson (2nd claim): 20.21,
Colin Inett: 30.04.

Mike Perry, Simon Charles and Andy McCall were non-starters.

Report by Dave Mastin.