East Kent CX league starts this Sunday

Post on behalf of our friends at VC Deal by Colin Robinson

Sunday 8th September
Sandwich Tech School

Great racing for all age groups and abilities.

We have plenty of space available for most races

U12 Boys & Girls
Youth A & B U16, U14
Senior Men
Junior Men
Women’s Race; Junior, U23, Senior, Vets
V60 Men

We have some fantastic prizes on offer !!

VC Deal are promoting club we invest everything back into the sport to make these events the best we can.

Please come and support cycle racing in the South East

👉🏻 https://www.britishcycling.org.uk/events/details/204714/East-Kent-Cyclo-Cross-League-Round-1-SandwichTechCross I

Thanet RC Evening “10” – 28th August 2019

The penultimate evening time trial at Betteshanger CP attracted an excellent field of 44 riders. This was in spite of some rather uncertain weather conditions. The hot weather of the previous few days was replaced with wet and initially windy conditions. However, the wind eased and the rain stopped just as the first riders set off. But the wet track took its toll on 3 riders who punctured and did not finish.

We had 8 juniors take part, and several of them improved their times from previous rides. Top of the times was Alex Dack with 27.04, while second junior and fastest girl was Ferne Peirce in a time of 29.10.

Dan Martin of University of Bath CC was quickest senior on his road bike in 22.24, while second place went to Seb Dickson (Aerolab) with 22.42. Mark Palmer was third with 23.04 and first Thanet RC rider. Top of the women’s times was Folkestone VC’s Charmaine Pullen, who recorded 24.41, while Abby Langley’s time of 26.57 was the top time of the Thanet RC women.

Times of all the riders can be found in the PDF documents.

This week’s helpers were Terry Fearn, Mike Kirkness, David Redmond, Tansy Martin and Dave Mastin.

Please note: Next week is the final evening 10 of the year.

Report by Dave Mastin.

Juniors BCP 28th August.pdf

Seniors BCP 28th August.pdf

TRC Evening 10 Mile Time Trials – 21st August 2019

This week’s 10 mile time trial at Betteshanger CP was billed as a 3-up, but there was also a number of 2-ups and solo riders taking part. In total, 30 riders signed on and enjoyed some warm but breezy conditions. There was 3 sets of 3-up teams, 4 pairs riding as 2-ups, and 13 solo riders.

The fastest 3-up team was the Thanet RC trio of Paul Kelk, Paul Kirkness and Matt Hall in a time of 24.23. In second place, in 24.57, was the all women’s team of Jo Smith, Catherine Morrell and Vicki Strila.

Ryan Hosking and Matt Bell came first in the 2-ups with 23.38, while 7 year old Alice Tulett came in 4th with 40.41. Alice rode most of the 10 miles on her own, as her partner, brother William came off and was unable to continue. Well done Alice, and we all wish William a speedy recovery.

Fastest solo rider was Adrian Hawkins, warming up for his World Championship ride in Poland next week. Adrian clocked 21.58, while in second place was Rob Milnes with 22.46. Faye Faiers was fastest solo woman in 26.07.

Please see attachment for all the times.

Thanks as always go out to the band of helpers; Terry Fearn, David Redmond, Mike Kirkness, Andrew Morrell, Michael Friend and Dave Mastin.

Report by Dave Mastin.

3-up 21st August.pdf

TRC Evening “10” – 7th August 2019

It was another warm and sunny evening at Betteshanger for the latest club evening time trial. However, the wind was a strong breeze from the south west, which held back the times of most riders. In total, 31 riders signed on, 8 juniors, 21 seniors and a tandem pair.

Our fastest junior rider was also our fastest girl, which was Tallulah Butcher in 27.46. Second junior and fastest boy was Alex Dack with a time of 28.09.

As expected, Nic Fennell topped the times for the senior riders with 21.07, over a minute ahead of Adrian Hawkins in second with 22.14. Breda Pooke made a rare appearance and was quickest woman with 30.03. Finally, Andy McCall rode one of his tandems with yet another new partner! This time he persuaded Sorcha, mum of the Butcher youngsters, to sit and look at his rear for 10 miles! Their time was 26.07.

All times can be found in the attached PDF files.

This weeks band of helpers was Malcolm Adams, Terry Fearn, Paul Kirkness, Michael friend and Dave Mastin.

Report by Dave Mastin.

Juniors BCP 7th August.pdf

Seniors BCP 7th August.pdf

Tricycle Association (SE) 25 Mile Time Trial – 4th August 2019

The only time trial taking place locally this weekend was the Tricycle Association (SE) 25 mile event on the Q25/8 Chilham course. This was the first 25 mile event on this course for several weeks that actually used the full 25 miles due to long running roadworks near Godmersham having been completed earlier in the week.

The club had three riders in the field, but only two machines, as one was a tandem trike. Terry Fearn was riding a solo machine and came in with a time of 1.37.17, which won him the handicap prize. The other “handicap” was myself sat on the back of the tandem piloted by Andy McCall. It was a new experience for both of us, and it was safe to say, we were a bit wrecked at the finish! Our time was 1.11.51. The fastest ride of the day was by Ian Pike, formerly from Folkestone, but now from Lincolnshire. Ian broke the trike course record with 1.1.57.

Report by Dave Mastin.

Sent from my iPad